All About The Bride

If you’re anything like me you’ve wasted (thoroughly enjoyed) many hours of your life watching wedding themed shows; Say Yes To The Dress, Four Weddings, Bridezillas, and any show with David Tutera.  It’s a common saying in these shows that, “it’s all about the bride” and the dress is of course a huge focus.  How can it not with brides are dropping $10k on them?

Image

Bridezillas of course is dramatized to the max and the man is often treated like trash but that’s what you get with many of today’s “reality” shows.  It’s also common to see uber controlling brides who make statements such as “it’s my day so I want things my way” and “I can’t have my bridesmaids looking better than me.”  ME ME ME!  

ImageWhen did weddings become so bride-centric?  It’s certainly one thing for reality TV to glorify the bride and her stupid-expensive dress but another when the most recognizable name in wedding dresses runs a commercial like this: 

It starts off innocently enough.  Rare is the wedding guest dying to see what the groom is wearing since a tux is usually just a tux and if you’ve seen one you’ve seen them all.  And it’s likely there are fewer tears shed for the groom than the bride.  Although many cry out of sheer joy at the union taking place.

Then he says it, “I’m the invisible man” and that is not OK.  No groom should ever feel invisible.  It’s just as much his day as it is hers. The groom is not just a cog in the wheel.  He’s an equal partner and the leading man in this wonderful day and all the days following.  

“Because let’s face it, the wedding is all about the bride.” 

ImageThis mentality needs to stop.  Weddings need to stop being glorified as a big party to showcase the bride and her overpriced outfit that she will only wear that one day.  Maybe if couples took the time to learn what marriage was all about they wouldn’t jump on the chance for the big party.  It’s serious stuff and it includes the bride AND the groom.

The commercial goes on to say, “And for the bride, it’s all about the dress.”

ImageWhich bride?  Certainly not me and all the brides I know.  For us it’s about marrying the man of our dreams.  The one we want to be with until death do us part.  It’s about celebrating our union in the company of our best friends and family.  

So David’s Bridal, I highly suggest you reevaluate your marketing strategy.  Actually I’d reevaluate a lot since I have been in your store and it certainly could use some drastic improvements but I digress.

I got a BEAUTIFUL dress (not from David’s) and I love it.  Plus I got an amazing deal on it so bonus points there.  This Tuesday I’m bringing it in for alterations and I’m stoked to see the final product. I’m even more stoked to see Jeff as I walk down the aisle, the fun and dancing with our loved ones after, the honeymoon at a to be determined location, and the journey we have ahead of us as husband and wife.

Weddings are fun but we brides, grooms, family, and friends should remember exactly why we gather to celebrate.  Marriage is a union sanctified by God and that’s really awesome.  So let’s all celebrate.  Celebrate the bride.  Celebrate the entirely visible groom.  Celebrate the vows being made.  Admire the jaw dropping dress.  And stuff your face with cake. 

Image

2 thoughts on “All About The Bride

    1. Another thing I’d like to add:
      In a time when we praise equality for all, there are still plenty of things like this that show no change. Equality for everyone, except “non-oppressed” groups, am I right?
      Maybe if we stopped forming these equality groups and stopped all this superiority bullcrap, then MAYBE we truly would be equal.

Leave a comment